The St Lucia Clinical Unit is one of the main homes for students in phase 1 of the MD program, and is the primary base for year 1 students. The unit is staffed by a team of academic and professional staff who lead the delivery of courses in Clinical Science, Clinical Practice, and Ethics and Professional Practice.

Case-Based Learning (CBL) tutorials are conducted in 14 dedicated rooms located on level 4 and level 5 of Building 69 at the St Lucia campus. These tutorials are delivered by a large team of dedicated medically-qualified casual tutors with support from the unit’s academic and professional staff.  When not used for CBL tutorials, these rooms are readily available to students for group study sessions. To book a CBL rooms outside of scheduled teaching activities, please email med.stlucia@uq.edu.au . In the email please include: full student name, student number, year level, date/s required (recurring or not), reason for booking and best contact number. 

The St Lucia Clinical Unit space on level 4 of Building 69 also has a dedicated student hub area which includes a study lounge and booths, computers, 24-hour usage lockers, a kitchenette, and a large seminar room that is also available for casual study sessions or event bookings.

The opening hours are as follows:

  • St Lucia Clinical Unit Enquires Counter: 8.00am to 4:00pm - Monday to Friday
  • Student Hub, CBL Rooms and Seminar Room: 6.00am to 11.00pm - Monday to Friday

The staff in the unit work closely with academics in the School of Biomedical Sciences and the School of Chemical and Molecular Biosciences, as well as engaging clinicians from the Faculty’s hospitals and elsewhere to contribute to Phase 1. The academic staff also support several scholarly projects to enhance learning and teaching in the MD. For example, projects aimed to support students completing the USMLE, to enhance feedback from examinations by using online assessment, to train and support case-based learning tutors, and to support Integration of ethics to case-based learning.

Academic Title Holders

UQ Medicine is proud to acknowledge that our provision of high quality medical education and research would not be possible without the work of our hospital and clinic-based health professionals. 

Find out more about Academic Titles at UQ.

Courses We Teach

Clinical Practice: 

Clinical Practice: Course and Module Coordinators Details - See attached for a list of all Clinical Practice modules and duration

MEDI7121 Clinical Practice 1 Course coordinator: Dr Ashlee Forster - ashlee.forster@uq.edu.au
MEDI7122 Clinical Practice 2 Course coordinator: Dr Ashlee Forster - ashlee.forster@uq.edu.au
MEDI7221 Clinical Practice 3 Course coordinator: Dr Sharee Stedman -  s.stedman@uq.edu.au
MEDI7222 Clinical Practice 4 Course coordinator: Dr Sharee Stedman -  s.stedman@uq.edu.au

Other Clinical Practice Coordinators:

Dr Jennifer Fitzgerald (Clinical Communication Skills) - jenny.fitzgerald@uq.edu.au

Ms Maree Keller (Procedural Skill Workshops) - maree.keller@uq.edu.au 


Clinical Science:

Clinical Science: Course and Module Coordinators Details - See attached for a list of all Clinical Science modules, duration, coordiantors and email addresses for 2018.

MEDI7111 Clinical Science 1 Course coordinator: Ms Angela Brandenburg - angela.brandenburg@uq.edu.au
MEDI7112 Clinical Science 2 Course coordinator: Dr Ben Barry - b.barry@uq.edu.au 
MEDI7211 Clinical Science 3 Course coordinator: Dr Louise Green -  l.green4@uq.edu.au 
MEDI7212 Clinical Science 4 Course coordinator: Dr Iulia Oancea -  i.oancea1@uq.edu.au 

Other Clinical Science Coordinators:

Dr Saleem Babri - a.babri@uq.edu.au

Dr Janet Clarkson - j.clarkson@uq.edu.au 

Dr Sharon Darlington - sharon.darlington@uq.edu.au 

Dr Ashlee Forster - ashlee.forster@uq.edu.au 

Dr Pieter Jansen - p.jansen@uq.edu.au 

Dr Megan Steele -  -m.steele@uq.edu.au 

Dr Tammy Smith - tammy.smith@uq.edu.au 


Ethics and Professional Practice.

Head, Discipline of Medical Ethics, Law & Professionalism - Dr Sarah Winch - sarah.winch@uq.edu.au

MEDI7131 EPP 1 Course coordinator: Ms Nicole Shepherd - n.sheperd2@uq.edu.au
MEDI7132 EPP 2 Course coordinator: Dr Bryan Mukandi - b.mukandi@uq.edu.au
MEDI7231 EPP 3 Course coordinator: Dr Bryan Mukandi- b.mukandi@uq.edu.au
MEDI7232 EPP 4 Course coordinator: Ms Nicole Shepherd - n.sheperd2@uq.edu.au

Contact

Head of St Lucia Clinical Unit
Dr Ben Barry
Phone: +61 7 344 31408
Email: b.barry@uq.edu.au
Address: Level 4, Building 69, St Lucia.

Team Leader
Mrs Amarjeet Kaur
Phone: +61 7 344 32047
Email: med.stlucia@uq.edu.au
Address: Level 4, Building 69, St Lucia.