Information for Onshore Domestic & International Students

The Ochsner Clinical School offers students the opportunity to experience a medical education from two world-class academic medical institutions: UQ Medicine and the Ochsner Health System in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Students who are not part of the Ochsner cohort (onshore domestic and international students) have the opportunity to apply for Year 4 placements at the Ochsner Clinical School. Placements are subject to availability. Please refer to Ochsner Clinical School Placements for details to apply.

Please refer to the information listed below for details specifically related to clinical placements at Ochsner.

    11. Visa arrangements

    Students travel to the U.S. under section 9 FAM 402.2-5(E)(3) of the U.S. Department of State Foreign Affairs Manual. Visa requirements for the US will depend on the nationality of the applicant and the length of time spent in the US. Please refer to the US Citizenship and Immigration Service website: 

    “An alien who is studying at a foreign medical school and seeks to enter the United States temporarily in order to take an “elective clerkship” at a U.S medical school’s hospital without remuneration from the hospital. The medical clerkship is only for medical students pursuing their normal third or fourth year internship in a U.S medical school as part of a foreign medical school degree…”

    - U.S Department of State Foreign Affairs Manual – Visas Section 9 FAM 402.2-5(E)(3) 

    The Visa Waiver Program

    "The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables nationals of certain countries, including Australia, New Zealand, and the U.K., to travel to the United States of America for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without obtaining a visa, if certain requirements are met. Under the VWP, time spent in Canada, Mexico, and adjacent islands counts towards the maximum of 90 days stay allowed under the program.”

    - Embassy of the United States, Canberra website:

    Nationals of the following 34 countries are eligible to apply for the Visa Waiver Program: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

    Apply for the Visa Waiver online at the Electronic System for Travel Authorisation (ESTA) website:

    Canadian Nationals

    - United States Embassy & Consulates in Canada website:

    Australian Nationals staying longer than 90 days

    Those students staying in the US for more than one rotation, will need to apply for a B1/B2 Visa. The US Consulate does not have an office in Brisbane, the closest office is Sydney. Applicants need to attend an interview to apply for this visa, which can be booked online. 

    Nationals from countries other than VWP countries

    Please consult the US Embassy in your home country for the entry requirements for the US.